20th May 2016

Prize Day took place on Friday May 20th. The whole school community and invited guests took time to recognise the hard work and great efforts of our students over the past academic year in many categories including academic, sporting, leadership, entrepreneurship, civic, cultural, musical and artistic. Students were awarded academic prizes in each subject area, with a number of Sixth year students receiving perpetual awards for subjects studied in their Leaving Certificate year. Sporting awards covering team and individual efforts from camogie, soccer and hurling to basketball and athletics were also presented.

Tomorrow evening, 26th May, sixth year students will bid an emotional farewell to Coláiste Chraobh Abhann at their final graduation ceremony. There will be speeches from students and staff and a series of songs sung by the students. Ms Smith, year head, will give the ‘Rogha na Bliana’ award to the most outstanding boy and girl of the year, along with other prizes. Staff, parents and local clergy will be in attendance for what promises to be a memorable evening.

Staff, students and parents look forward to an exciting and varied evening on Tuesday 31st May at the TY exhibition evening. This is an evening where parents can really appreciate the personal development and teamwork that marks out TY as such an important year for many students. There will be exhibits covering entrepreneurship, music, drama, art and many more. Many thanks to all the staff who are helping prepare students for this important evening.

Well done to Laoise Cullen in Transition Year who recently competed in the Leinster Athletics Championships. She came third in the Hammer Throw and is now through to the All Ireland finals in June! Laoise also came away with fifth place in the Discus. Congratulations and best wishes Laoise!

PEER MENTORS 2016/2017
Well done to the following students who have been selected as Peer Mentors for the 2016/2017 school year: Jade Byrne, Stephen Hunt, Lauryn Coughlan, Molly Hayes, Luke Byrne, Aoife Cullinan, Marc Brady, Róisín Connaughton, Brian Short, Laoise Cullen, Róisín Keegan, Cian Cullen, Róisín Belton, Matthew Byrne and Chloe Longmore.

PREFECTS 2016/2017
Well done to the following students who have been selected as Prefects for next year: Conor Murphy Toole, Jack Bellamy, Thomas Kearns, Conor Rubalcava, Conor Clack, Jimmy Murphy, Eoin Vines, Eimantas Paukste, Killian Carlin Hannon, Clodagh Bradshaw, Sinead Roche, Rachel Kennedy, Jessie Kenny, Holly Martin, Eimear Jordan, Orla Bradshaw, Sophia Smirnova and Robyn Rooney. These students will take on supervision and leadership roles around the school.

Developed by MIT Education Solutions